Don't forget to vote all the way down the ballot.  Local elections matter.  Learn who is running!

Larimer County Commissioner



Larimer's three-member Board of County Commissioners is the main policy-making body in the County and works to represent the interest of the citizens of Larimer County at local, state and national levels. Areas of concern to the Board of County Commissioners include budgeting, land use and planning, public safety, human and economic health, and infrastructure. 


Commissioners, who make about $113,000 each year, are elected at large from one of three geographic districts for four-year staggered terms.  In Larimer County, Commissioners are limited to serving three four-year terms. This year, the County will elect a Commissioner to replace District 1 Commissioner, Lew Gaiter.  Lew Gaiter resigned after his second term to throw his hat into the gubernatorial race. 


Currently, the three members of the Commission, as well as the other elected County officials, are all Republican.

John Kefalas (D)


Summary forthcoming

Sean Dougherty (R)


Website:  www.seanforlarimercounty.com


For 18 years, Sean Dougherty has been a realtor in Fort Collins.  His real estate experience includes President and Director of the Fort Collins Board of Realtors.  


Sean has been active in the Larimer County community and involved in numerous charities and organizations.  He has also been on the Larimer County Planning Commission (currently, the Chair of the Commission) and on the Red Feather Lakes Advisory Council.


Sean has further prepared himself for the job of County Commissioner by taking classes offered by the County and the City of Fort Collins:  Leadership Northern Colorado; CityWorks 101; Larimer County 101; and Leadership Program of the Rockies.


For more detail, please see our fact sheet on Sean Dougherty.