Candidates for Colorado Senate District 1

Serving the Colorado counties of:  Cheyenne, Elbert Lincoln, Logan, Kit Carson, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Yuma Washington and Weld.  See map for detail.

Debra Gustafson (D)


Election Facebook page


Ms. Gustafson is a member of the Weld RE3J School Board and is an elementary school teacher in Brighton.

Jerry Sonnenberg (R-Incumbent)

Election website:


Capital Website:


Jerry Sonnenberg is a Colorado native who has been farming and ranching in northeastern Colorado his entire life.   He continues to live and work on the same family farm that both his father and he were raised.  Senator Sonnenberg was first elected to the Colorado House of Representatives in 2006 and immediately became a strong, conservative voice for agriculture and rural Colorado. After serving 8 years he was elected to serve from District 1 in the Colorado Senate.  Currently, he serves as President Pro Tempore of the Colorado Senate while maintaining his Chairmanship of the Senate Agriculture, Natural Resources and Energy Committee and as Vice-Chair of Senate Veterans and Military Affairs Committee.


Mr. Sonneberg serves on the following Colorado Senate committees:

  • Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Energy, Chair
  • Appropriations, Member
  • Capital Development, Member
  • Legislative Council, Member
  • State, Veterans, and Military Affairs, Vice Chair

Position on issues: 

  • VoteSmart site indicates that Jerry Sonnenberg refused to provide positions on issues.
  • In 2016, he co-sponsored SB 2016-17, a bill  to Authorize the Concealed Carry of a Firearm Without a Permit